About Us

The Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center (PBIC) is a national clearinghouse for information related to pedestrians and bicyclists. Our mission is to improve the quality of life in communities through the increase of safe walking and bicycling as a viable means of transportation and physical activity. Through our comprehensive Web sites (www.pedbikeinfo.org, www.pedbikeimages.org), we offer information and training to diverse audiences about health and safety, engineering, advocacy, education, enforcement, access, and mobility as it relates to pedestrians and bicyclists. The PBIC is funded by the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration and housed within the University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center in Chapel Hill, NC.

Technical assistance helpline

Email: pbic@pedbikeinfo.org

Phone: 888-823-3977

Staff contacts

Charlie Zegeer
Director
zegeer@hsrc.unc.edu
919-962-7801

Laura Sandt
Associate Director
sandt@hsrc.unc.edu
919-962-2358

Carl Sundstrom
Program Specialist
sundstrom@hsrc.unc.edu
919-843-4963

Dan Gelinne
Program Assistant
gelinne@hsrc.unc.edu
919-962-8703

James Gallagher
Marketing Manager
james@hsrc.unc.edu
919-843-7007

Jonathon Weisenfeld
Design Services Manager
jonathon@hsrc.unc.edu
919-843-1936

Richard Lytle
Web Applications Programmer
lytle@hsrc.unc.edu
919-843-5333